Dec 30 evening- 31

Dec 30 (evening)Last night we met up with Anita for some beers before we went to her Aunt’s family’s home (suuuper nice) for empanadas, bread and coffee. ,
The family was awesome and really interesting. They told us all about a bunch of super random new years traditions like making effigies, burning them, and then running around with your fully packed traveling bags, jumping over the smaller ones (some even have fire crackers in them!). In the day, people show off their gigantic paper maché charachters on Ave Amazonia and at midnight they set them ablaze to bring in the new years and their resolutions. Anita’s family had a Pluto (picture below). Another funny one is the type of underwear you wear today for the type of wish you make for the next year:  red= love, yellow= money
Dec 31 day

Today I explored quito much more and quite randomly. 

My main goal for the day was to find this rock climbing gym across the city and since I hate cabs I walked and on the way explored a few nice parks and some fairly sketchy but super interesting neighborhoods. I enjoyed these soo much more than the bustling historical center and gringo world which are obviously super touristy.  

My other goal was to find an authentic place to eat lunch. I was getting close to the gym and losing hope (because I skipped the main food area) till I turned a corner and practically walked straight into this little mom and pop shop serving arroz y pollo and this awesome juice (that I have no idea what it was).

I continued on and found the gym (its outdoors) but of course it was closed and didnt look like it had been open in years. But the walls looked awesome so I was pretty disappointed. So, I continued on to some hills to the east of quito and started walking up into the barrios (super poor neighborhoods in the hills). At one point I stopped and watched a soccer game for 15 or so minutes and then continued on up the hill, which quickly got much steeper and sketchier. I pretty much walked straight up on a narrow trail until I got to the top where I found some roads and walked along the ridge for a while. Then I walked allll the way down the valley only to realize that the other side accross the river was suuuper steep and not hikeable (for me thats sayin something cuz i usually will just beeline it up). So i just walked back up and around the gorge intending to end up at a big park. I got to the park and literally as i walked up to the gate the security guard closed it and said they were closed. 

So i started my walk back to the airbnb where Im staying, which was a walk through pretty much constant street parties of cross-dressed giys stopping cars and getting them to give them money by dancing, kissing the car, and even leaning in the window and kissing the driver! (it was bizarre but hilarious). I finally got back at literally the same exact time as Anusha and her boyfriend and im now resting up before we go to an indian restaurant (theyre both indian so im excited cuz theyll be able to recommend the best stuff.
Later tonight I plan on going out to some bars for new years with Anusha, her boyfriend, and Anita and watch people burn s**t in the streets!

Happy new years to everyone!
Pluto 

  

Leave a comment